British Columbia.—There are 69 Provincial Parks in British Columbia covering an These Parks are classified A, B, C and Special. Class A area of about 12,496 sq. miles. Parks are those considered most highly for immediate recreational development and are strongly protected. Class B Parks are areas slated for development, valuable wilderness areas or places set aside for a specific reason. Class C Parks are intended primarily for the use of local residents and are generally managed by a Board. Special Parks, of which only one remains, were created in the past by Special Acts of the Legislature. are in all stages of development and dedicated to a variety of recreational uses. There are immense wilderness areas such as Tweedsmuir and Wells Gray Parks and outstanding scenic and mountain places which include Garibaldi, Mount Robson and E. C. Manning Parks. Thousands of city dwellers throng to the ski slopes of Mount Seymour or picnic at Cultus Lake Park. The formal gardens of Peace Arch are a monument to the goodwill between two nations. Vancouver Island has a chain of small forest parks that have achieved a tremendous popularity with tourists—the best known are Little Qualicum Falls and Miracle Beach. In addition, 68 areas are included in a roadside camp-site system, many of them located in the Provincial Parks.

## THE NATIONAL CAPITAL PLAN\*

Ottawa, the city selected by Queen Victoria in 1857 to be the permanent seat of the legislature of the United Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, was designated the National Capital of the Dominion upon Confederation in 1867. The community grew out of the military and construction camp which served as headquarters for the building of the Rideau Canal—a military project carried out between 1826 and 1832 which utilized the Rideau and Cataraqui Rivers to link Kingston on Lake Ontario with the Ottawa River to provide a safe interior military waterway between Lake Ontario and Montreal, bypassing the vulnerable international section of the St. Lawrence River. Originally known as Bytown, after Col. John By, R.E., builder of the Canal, the settlement prospered with the development of the lumber trade. The Act of Incorporation, changing Bytown to the City of Ottawa, was proclaimed on Jan. 1, 1855.

The city remained a self-governing municipality in the Province of Ontario after it became the National Capital and no provision was made to equip or plan it in keeping with its new status and functions. When the need for beautification and improvement became apparent, Parliament established the Ottawa Improvement Commission in 1899, (renamed the Federal District Commission in 1927), an honorary organization empowered to co-operate with the city in the development of a system of federal parks and driveways. A parks and parkway plan was prepared in 1903 by the Canadian landscape architect Frederick Todd, and his recommendations guided the Commission over the past half-century in the development of some 22 miles of scenic driveways and 900 acres of parks throughout the urban area.

There was still no over-all plan to guide the Capital's growth however and much of the natural beauty of the city's site was destroyed by industrial, railway and commercial development. A Federal Planning Commission was established by Parliament in 1913 to prepare a comprehensive plan but World War I intervened and the report was never implemented. A plan prepared in 1922 by an Ottawa city planner, the late Noulan Cauchon, was not officially adopted. In 1937 the Government retained the services of the eminent French city planner, Jacques Gréber of Paris to replan the city centre and the grounds of the government buildings. The first project, the siting of the National War Memorial in Confederation Square, was just completed when World War II broke out. For the second time the planning of the Capital was prevented by war.

## THE MASTER PLAN

In 1945 Jacques Gréber was invited to return to act as consultant-in-chief on the preparation of a long range Master Plan for Ottawa and Hull as the urban centre of a National Capital District of 900 sq. miles, the boundaries of which had been defined by

<sup>\*</sup> Prepared by the Federal District Commission, Ottawa.